Some highlights from Psalms

God. 


Incredible.


– – – – –


“I lie down and sleep. I wake up again, because the Lord sustains me.” (3:5)


“In the morning, O Lord, You hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before You and wait in expectation.” (5:3)


“The Lord has heard my weeping. The Lord has heard my cry for mercy; the Lord accepts my prayers.” (6:8-9)


“When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, the moon and the stars which You have set in place, what is man that You are mindful of him, the son of man that You care for him?” (8:3-4)


“Those who know Your name will trust in You, for You, O Lord, have never forsaken those who seek You.” (9:9-10)


“But You, O God, You do see trouble and grief; You consider it to take it in hand. The victim commits himself to You; You are the helper of the fatherless.” (10:14)


“But I trust in Your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in Your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, for He has been good to me.” (13:5-6)


“Keep me safe, O God, for in You I take refuge. I said to the LORD, ‘You are my Lord; apart from You I have no good thing.” (16:1-2)


“Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; You have made my lot secure… I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand, I will never be shaken.” (16:5, 7-8)


“To You, O Lord, I lift up my soul; in You I trust, O my God… No one whose hope is in You will ever be put to shame… Show me Your ways, O Lord, teach me Your paths; guide me in Your truths and teach me, for You are God my Savior, and my hope is in You all day long… Turn to me and be gracious to me, for I am lonely and afflicted. The troubles of my heart have multiplied; free me from my anguish…  my hope is in You.” (25 abridged)


“The Lord is my light and my salvation — whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life — of whom shall I be afraid?” (27:1)


“Into Your hands I commit my spirit, O Lord, the God of truth… I will be glad and rejoice in Your love, for You saw my affliction, and knew the anguish of my soul… but I trust in You, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in Your hands.” (31:5, 7, 14-15)


“The Lord’s unfailing love surrounds the man who trusts in Him.” (32:10)


“We wait in hope for our Lord; He is our help and our shield. In Him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in His holy name. May your unfailing love rest upon us, O Lord, even as we put our hope in You.” (33:20-22)


“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted, and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” (34:18)


“O Lord, You have seen this; do not be silent. Do not be far from me, O Lord.” (35:22)


“I wait for You, O Lord. You will answer, O Lord my God.” (38:15)


“You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is nothing before you. Each man’s life is but a breath… But now, O Lord, what do I look for? My hope is in You.” (39:5, 7)


“I waited patiently for the Lord; He turned to me and heard my cry… He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in God. Blessed is the man who makes the Lord his trust… Many, O Lord my God, are the wonders You have done. The things You have planned for us, no one can recount to You…” (40:1, 3-4a, 5)


“Why are you so downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my Savior and my God.” (43:5)


“How awesome is the Lord Most High, the great King over all the earth!” (47:2)


“Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from Your presence or take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of salvation, and grant me a willing spirit to sustain me… O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare Your praise… The sacrifices of our God are a broken and contrite heart. O God, You will not despise.” (51:10-12, 15, 17)


“I trust in the Lord’s unfailing love for ever and ever. I will praise You forever for what You have done; in Your name I will hope, for Your name is good.”


“Surely God is my help; the Lord is the one who sustains me.” (54:4)


“When I am afraid, I will trust in You. In God, Whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid.” (56:3-4)


“Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me, for in You my soul takes refuge… I cry out to God Most High, who fulfills His purpose for me… My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast… For great is your love, reaching to the heavens; Your faithfulness stretches to the skies.” (57:1a, 2a, 7a, 10)


“My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from Him. He alone is my rock and my salvation. He is my fortress; I shall never be shaken… Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to Him, for God is our refuge… One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard: that You, O God, are strong, and that You, O Lord, are loving.” (62:1-2, 8, 11)


“My soul clings to You; Your right hand upholds me.” (63:8)


“I am in pain and distress, may your salvation, O God, protect me. I will praise God’s name in song, and glorify Him with thanksgiving.” (69:29-30)


“Yet I am always with You; You hold me by my right hand. You guide me with Your counsel, and afterward will take me into glory. Whom have I in heaven but You? And earth has nothing I desire besides You. My heart and my flesh may fail, but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion forever.” (73:23-26)


“When I said, ‘My foot is slipping,’ Your love, O Lord, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, Your consolation brought joy to my soul.” (94:18-19)


“Look to the Lord and His strength; seek His face always.” (105:4)


“Let them give thanks to the Lord for His unfailing love.” (107:15)


“Not to us, O Lord, not to us, but to Your name be the glory, because of Your love and faithfulness.” (115:1)


“For You, O Lord, have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling… how can I repay the Lord for all His goodness to me?” (116:8, 12)
      All of Psalm 116 is ridiculously beautiful and incredible and everyone should read it over and over and over again.


“The Lord is my strength and my song; the Lord has become my salvation.” (118:14)


“The Lord has done great things for us, and we are filled with joy.” (126:3)


“The Lord will fulfill His purpose for me; Your love, O Lord, endures forever, do not abandon the works of Your hands.” (138:8)


“O Lord, You have searched me and You know me.” (139:1)


“The Lord is near to all who call on Him, to all who call on Him in truth.” (145:18)


“Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. Praise the Lord.” (150:6)


– – – – – –


I’ll be following this up in my next post with some reflections.





Some highlights from Psalms

Leave a Reply

