Hair

“Keep as much of the length as possible — I just want it trimmed,” I told her.

And yet I left with my hair a good two and a half inches shorter, and they were a very precious two and a half. I’ve been trying for over a year now to grow my hair out, but the scenario I mentioned before has proven to be recurring. At Christmas break, I did have one stylist, the first one in this last year, who understood what I meant by just a trim. When I came home for the summer, my hair, for the first time since my junior year of high school, had begun to pass my shoulders.

But now it’s gone again.

Maybe it’s my lot in life to have cropped hair.

I wouldn’t really mind so much if this cut wasn’t so tomboyish, but after the careless (and possibly not quite intentional) hacking off of the length I had been trying so hard to grow, I was afraid of what would else happen if I asked that stylist to fix it.

So now, since I can’t have length, I’m contemplating some dramatic color change. I’ve been dyeing my hair for about 4 years now, starting with auburn for a few short-lived months, and since then, playing with various shades of blonde. And in the last 6 months, I’ve gone from platinum blonde to brunette to strawberry blonde to redhead.

I’ll upset my family for saying this, but I want to try something less natural now. Some purplish shade of red, maybe. Or two-toned — auburn and bleach blonde, one on the top layers, one underneath.

You could argue, I suppose, that a crazy hair color is overcompensating for an unsatisfactory hair cut. Color, however, is much more fixable than length, for those of us who are too cheap to afford extensions.

Hair

Leave a Reply

