Sometimes, it’s the small things that really strike me

My family sponsors a teenage girl from Kenya named Auma. She writes us letters, and sometimes her mother goes into town to use a computer to email us.

In their last correspondence, my mom had asked what had happened to Auma’s father, and her mother explained that he had died, just collapsed one day on his way to work.

“I loved him so much,” she said, “but God loved him more than me.”

Those few words affected me deeply.

I can only pray that if I were ever to suffer such a great loss, I would have such grace, such simple faith and trust.

Sometimes, it’s the small things that really strike me

Leave a Reply

