So much brilliance, so little time

I’m thoroughly overwhelmed with delight at the brilliance of some filmmakers.

Today I saw The King’s Speech with Mark and his parents, and it was one of the most beautiful, poignant, engaging, well-made, well-written, well-acted movies I’ve ever seen. Ever. I very rarely lavish such high praise on movies, because I very rarely see movies that are both so excellently crafted AND a good story. My film snob friends are welcome to debate me on the prevalence of such movies, and getting into exactly why I’m so hard to impress would be a bit of an unnecessary tangent for right now. Some other time, maybe.

Suffice it to say, I firmly believe that this was a must-see movie for everyone (well… maybe not those whose sensibilities would be offended by two brief instances of heavy profanity, but I’ll add that it was the best, most appropriate use of profanity I’ve ever encountered), and I’ll be extremely disappointed if it doesn’t win Best Picture at the Oscars.

But wait, there’s more!

After being enraptured by The King’s Speech, Mark and I watched the last two episodes of the latest season of Dr. Who. I have friends who have been raving about it for quite some time now, so I’m pretty late jumping on the bandwagon. Anyway, Mark discovered it this summer, and he introduced me to it about a month ago. We blew through the first 12 episodes, and tonight watched the two-part season season finale.

I was addicted to this show by about 5 minutes into the first episode, and loved it more with every episode.

BUT THE FINALE.

HOLY MERCIFUL GOODNESS.

I can’t rave enough about the brilliance that came together. I can’t say I’ve ever been so shocked and awed by any TV show. I’m normally a very passive viewer; I’ll cry at sad or exceptionally happy things that happen in movies or TV shows, and laugh at exceptionally funny things, but those times are only occasional. But this, this had me suddenly sitting bolt upright and gasping and exclaiming What?! WHAT????” and my jaw was still hanging open when it ended.

I never gush over anything like this. But today calls for gushing.

So much brilliance, so little time

One thought on “So much brilliance, so little time

  1. Mark Harbison says:

    And now you get to cap it all off with Scott Pilgrim! Two of the best movies ever, and one of the best TV shows ever, in one day!

Leave a Reply

