Nostalgia… sort of

I just took a tour through some of my posts from a couple years ago.

Yikes.

It is undeniably, excruciatingly obvious that I was trying to emulate someone else (goodness knows who), because the voice of most of my posts was definitely not my own. I think maybe I was trying to be a hipster or something by putting my words together in quirky, choppy, overly poetic sentences.

I’m not sure who I thought I was trying to impress, but it’s embarrassing. Humorous, in a way, but embarrassing.

At the same time, though, I suppose those posts give me a sense of relief — of “Hey, look, I really have grown up a little bit!” I don’t really write for anyone in particular now, which makes me more sincere, I think, in the way that I write. I can fairly confidently say that almost anything I post is just a slightly more-polished version of how I actually speak.

It’s perhaps a little ironic, because I seem to remember writing so pretentiously in hopes that I’d attract readers, whereas now, thanks to a simple re-post of something funny I found on another blog, I’ve accrued a decent following, and I no longer care. I’ve learned to write just for myself, and to consider readers simply a nice bonus.

I think I feel a post brewing on the necessity for everyone to constantly practice writing.

That would be a nice way to kick off my resolution from my previous post to write more often. I failed royally at that. But hey, it’s the first day of spring, which means it’s a time for starting over, right?

Nostalgia… sort of

One thought on “Nostalgia… sort of

  1. Wow, totally forgot that it was spring. Goodness gracious. Is it bad that I honestly don’t worry about my voice? I just write whatever I’m feeling at the moment and go with it. :) And I am glad you’re back in the blogging world. I’ve missed you, dear friend.

Leave a Reply

