Antidote to melancholy

For a a number of reasons, I am in a very bad mood right now, and I have been wallowing in it for the last hour. My reasons for being in a bad mood are, I think, perfectly legitimate, but the fact of the matter is that dwelling on those things accomplishes nothing.

So to counteract myself, instead of enumerating my reasons be miserable (which I will not specify because that somewhat defeats the purpose), I’m going to name things I’m thankful for.

  1. I am thankful to be employed. I am thankful that, while it’s a crunch most of the time, my employment earns me enough to pay my bills. I am thankful that my employment is in the field that I went to school for.
  2. I am thankful for Rory, my quirky little beater of a car. By all rights he should have puttered out by now, but he just keeps on going and hasn’t given me any major trouble.
  3. I am thankful to live in a town where the ocean is never more than 10 minutes away.
  4. I am thankful for technology that makes it easy for me to keep in touch with my long-distance boyfriend and even-longer-distance friends.
  5. I am thankful I have managed to avoid every bout of the cold or flu that has gone around at work this year. (I’m sure I’ve just jinxed that.)
  6. I am thankful for chiropractors.
  7. I am thankful that all the trees downtown are decorated with lights.
  8. I am thankful for Amtrak.
  9. I am thankful for microfiber blankets.
  10. I am thankful for beautifully and thought-provokingly written words.
  11. I am thankful for sleep, especially when I remember what my life was life this time last year (in a word: hell), because I was forced to go literally days at a time without it. This season of my life has its stresses, absolutely — and arguably stresses with higher stakes than what I was dealing with at the conclusion of my college career. But I don’t feel nearly as overwhelmed now as I did then, and the simple matter of getting enough sleep might be the key difference.

Has my mood reversed completely? No, I wouldn’t say so. But I would say I’ve regained perspective, and that’s enough for tonight.

Postscript: I am very, very thankful that I suddenly seem to have broken through whatever wall was holding me back over the last year and I am able to write consistently again.

Antidote to melancholy

2 thoughts on “Antidote to melancholy

Leave a Reply

