In my own words

I have this strange tendency to undermine the worth of my own words. I’m aware that plenty of people are smarter and more articulate than I am, and for some reason I feel that because those people exist, they have a greater right to speak up. Surely someone else has had the same ideas I do, and surely they could express those ideas better, so it seems presumptuous for me to take that expression upon myself.

It feels selfish.

I realize this is silly. There’s space enough for all our ideas and all our articulations and interpretations of those ideas. I am not depriving someone else of their opportunity to speak if I speak myself; but if I don’t speak, I’m depriving myself of my own voice.

In my own words

2 thoughts on “In my own words

Leave a Reply

